49 Arkansas Students Receive Dollars for Scholars Grants to Attend United Methodist Colleges

LITTLE ROCK, ARK. (May 15, 2017) – A total of 49 Arkansas students recently were named recipients of the Dollars for Scholars scholarships by the United Methodist Higher Education Foundation. For each recipient, the students’ local churches give $1,000, and the United Methodist Higher Education Foundation matches that contribution. Then the United Methodist Foundation of Arkansas gives $1,000, and the student’s selected college contributes $1,000 for a $4,000 award.

“UMFA is honored to award $49,000 in grants to these Arkansas students attending United Methodist colleges and universities during the 2017-2018 school year.” said UMFA President and CEO Jim Argue, Jr.

Attending Centenary University is Alexander M. Shannon of Pulaski Heights UMC, Little Rock; attending Dillard University is Kayla M. Vann of Wesley Chapel UMC, Little Rock; attending Drew University is Erin E. Farrah of Wesley Chapel UMC, Little Rock; and attending Southern Methodist University is Matthew F. Esterer of First UMC, Bentonville.

Hendrix College students receiving the scholarships include Ethny M. Ashcraft of Lakeside UMC, Pine Bluff; Gwen T. Boone of First UMC, Conway; Aubrey N. Brink of Sequoyah UMC, Fayetteville; Lexie N. Burleson of Lakewood UMC, North Little Rock; Samuel E. Byrd of First UMC, Malvern; Christina G. Choh of Hope Korean First UMC, Little Rock; Joseph R. Coker and Samuel M. Coker of First UMC, Conway; Andrew D. Fleming of Grand Avenue UMC, Hot Springs; Ava Z. Graves of First UMC, Bryant; Liam R. Hankins-Hull of First UMC, Little Rock; Marlee L. Hoggard of Geyer Springs UMC, Little Rock; “Annie” Mary J. Meek of Trinity UMC, Little Rock; Tyler J. Odell of Clinton UMC, Harper L. Purifoy of First UMC, Malvern; Daniel K. Reece of First UMC, West Memphis;  Faith A. Reynolds of Grace UMC, Hensley; Madison E. Shaddox of Cabot UMC; Katherine E. Skartvedt of First UMC, Russellville; Victoria L. Spradley of Pulaski Heights UMC, Little Rock; Andrea R. Stitt of Vilonia UMC; Makala J. Strang of Fairfield Bay UMC; Seth R. Wagoner of First UMC, Batesville; Delaney G. Wells of First UMC, Charleston; and Margaret A. Young of Lakeside UMC, Pine Bluff.

Scholarship recipients studying at Oklahoma City University are Hannah N. Cozart of Faith UMC, Little Rock; Anna R. Delony of First UMC, Ft. Worth, Texas; Mary E. Wigley of First UMC, Monticello; and Emily L. Wollenberg of First UMC, Clarksville.

Philander Smith College scholarship recipients include Tiaara A. Anderson, Edward J. Boyd, Ashley D. Buford, Jalan J. D. Caffey, John D. Davis, Robert R. Harris, LaKendrick D. Lewis, Deviontae T. Martin, Michelle M. McDonald, Jasmine A. Owens, Javante Q. Smith, Wendell P. Smith, II, and Russell R. Williams, III, all of Wesley Chapel UMC, Little Rock.

Seminary students Andrea’ L. Cummings of Wesley Chapel UMC, Little Rock, will attend Candler School of Theology; Robin G. Roark of White Hall UMC will attend Saint Paul School of Theology; and Meghan L. Hatcher of Central UMC, Fayetteville, will attend Wesley Theological Seminary.

The United Methodist Higher Education Foundation is dedicated to helping students achieve their dreams by providing scholarship aid for United Methodist students attending 122 United Methodist-related institutions.  UMFA is one of the largest United Methodist Foundations in the country. Founded in 1963, UMFA is responsible for over 750 funds that have combined assets in excess of $146 million.